Teacher’s College Saturday Reunion Notes

On Saturday, I attended the Teacher’s College Reading & Writing project Saturday Reunion.  I went to three sessions, met Richard Peck, saw Sarah Weeks, Avi, Pam Munoz Ryan, and Richard Peck perform reader’s theater, and had an amazing time.  I promised I would upload my notes, and here they are!  I’m still decompressing and reflecting on my own thoughts, but hopefully my notes will help some of you who weren’t able to attend (or who were there, but in different sessions!)

 

Session 1: Mentor Texts Can Teach Students at Every Stage of the Writing Process: Secure the Help of a Pro to Inspire & Instruct Students as They Rehearse, Draft, Revise, and Edit

     


Session II: Responding to Ten of the Most Common Issues in Student Writing (Carl Anderson)

   

Session III: It’s Not Just the Facts: Note-Taking & Idea-Making in the Content Areas   

   

*I’m using a new document server, Issuu, so let me know if there are any problems.  (Scribd kept trying to convert my handwriting to typing!)

Slice of Life #22

“No!  No! Get the rebound!”  I screamed at the TV as the final seconds counted down.  Three separate NCAA games were ending and I was on the losing end of all three.  My almost-perfect bracket was was about to go up in flames.

Tossing aside my laptop, I moved closer to the screen so I would be able to read the scores in the upper left-hand corner (I have the worst eyesight).  As the seconds ticked down, my heart beat in time with the constant lead changes.  Up and down, the seconds ticked by.  Timeout, out of bounds, whistles, squeaks, passes, shots, misses, fouls….I couldn’t handle it!  

Finally, all three games ended.  My bracket is still intact (minus Marquette), and now I have to wait until Thursday for more basketball!  I love March Madness!!!