Moon Science, History, and Mystery by Stewart Ross

I am trying to expand my reading horizons and read more non-fiction.  Space is always a popular topic with my students, so when I saw Moon Science, History, And Mystery I picked it up for my classroom library.

With a stunning cover, this should catch my students’ attention. And the short chapters will hold their attention. Each spread is like a mini-unit, focusing on a different subject. The topics range from moonlight to moon gods/goddesses to moon probes, everything you could want to know about the moon is in this book. Each spread is full of pictures, charts, captions, and much more. I think kids will feel good about flipping through this book and reading the sections that interest them. After reading a spread or two, I think they will be pulled in and will want to read the whole thing!

Each spread is labeled as part of the Moon Struck, Moon Landing, or Moon Facts theme.  The Moon Landing theme is chronological and does a great job of explaining NASA’s first lunar mission.  The Moon Struck sections focus on history, mythology, and the arts.  Moon Facts are just that.  

This is also a great addition to any science teacher’s classroom library!

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

A few weeks ago, a former student emailed me.  The subject line was “A book you have to read!”  The book in question?  Jenny Han’s The Summer I Turned Pretty.   I picked up a copy the next time I was at the local bookstore.  I started the Challenge with this book because my student swore it would be the best summer read.  Boy, was she right!

The atmosphere in this book is picture-perfect.  Jenny Han draws you in and the atmosphere is palpable.  While reading, I could almost feel the cool breeze off the ocean, the sand between my toes, and the sun on my face.  It’s the perfect summer read.  

Belly, who wishes everyone would treat her like a grown-up and call her by her real name, Isabelle,  measures her life in summers. Winter is just a countdown to the time she can go back to the beach and the beach house. Everything important in her life has included Susannah, Conrad, and Jeremiah.  Conrad  and jeremiah are the boys that Belly has known since her before she was born.  They are her brothers, her best friends, and the love(s) of her life.  But this summer, everything is changing.  

I loved this book.  And I am crossing my fingers that Jenny Han will be writing a sequel!  The last few pages had me teary-eyed and reading faster than I could imagine- I was dying to know how it would turn out!  Now I am dying to know what happens next and if it all works out.  

If you are looking for a great beach read, I highly recommend this one.  And how much do I love the cover?!

48 Hour Book Challenge Update

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han- 276 pages

Moon Science, History, And Mystery by Stewart Ross- 121 pages

Total pages read: 397
Total Time: 2 hours reading, 5.5 hours since starting

*So far I have been to the 6th grade dance. Interruption #1. 🙂

Ready, Set, Go! 48-Hour Book Challenge!

This weekend I have the 6th grade dance and I am attending the Tony Awards.  But I’m still in for the 48-Hour Book Challenge!  I’ll be posting updates throughout the challenge when I finish a book and about my progress (and distractions).  Keep checking the blog for reviews and updates.