The Clique Summer Collection #1: Massie by Lisi Harrison

The Clique Summer Collection #1: Massie (Clique Series) by Lisi Harrison is the first of the Clique Summer Collection books. I’ve never read the Clique books but every year I have a handful of students who love them. I’ve flipped through them before but I’ve never sat down and read one all the way through.

Massie is a spoiled brat. In fact, spoiled probably isn’t even a strong enough word. She drove me crazy throughout the book, tossing out designer names, treating her friends and parents like dirt, and generally being a miserable human being. Yet, I couldn’t put the book down. This is chick-lit for kids, silly, over-the-top, and fun to laugh at.  You would never want to be friends with Massie but you totally love laughing at her insanity!

I know there are some people who think the Clique series is teaching tweens to focus solely on looks and designer brands but my students laugh at that idea.  They tell me all the time that they know the books are fiction and they would never even talk to someone like Massie in real life.  But they do love reading about girls like her.

 

Don’t forget!  You can win all 5 Clique Summer Collection books at my blog by entering here!!!

48 Hour Hour Book Challenge Wrap-up

Today is a very busy day- grocery shopping, getting dressed, and then I am leaving for the TONY AWARDS!!!!

That means I am wrapping up the Challenge early this year. But I’m happy with the time I was able to devote to it this year, despite a busy weekend. Here are my final stats:

A Map Of The Known World by Lisa Ann Sandell- 273 pages

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han- 276 pages

Moon Science, History, And Mystery by Stewart Ross- 121 pages

Boys Are Dogs by Leslie Margolis- 195 pages

Girls Acting Catty by Lesle Margolis- 158 pages

My Season with Penguins: An Antarctic Journal (Robert F. Sibert Honor Books) by Sophie Webb- 47 pages

Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson- 353 pages

The Princess Diaries, Volume II: Princess in the Spotlight (Princess Diaries Series) by Meg Cabot- 86 pages (audiobook while driving 1 hr roundtrip for cupcakes!)

Hate That Cat: A Novel by Sharon Creech- 148 pages

Biology: Life as We Know It! by Dan Green- 128 pages

The Clique Summer Collection #1: Massie (Clique Series) by Lisi Harrison- 127 pages

The Mother-Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick- 90 pages

Total pages read: 2001
Total Time: 17 hours reading, 2 hours tweeting/cheering on

Total Reading Time: 19 hours!

 

*If I get any more reading done, I will update this post.