Catching Fire

I think I am dragging out my experience with Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games). I don’t want it to end! It’s fantastic and awesome and I am afraid that when I finish it, I will be stuck until the third book comes out!

The book is AMAZING.

What Do You Want to Know- Question #7

From Jessica Wright:

Thank you…thank you in advance. I have few questions:
1. Do your students maintain daily journaling for both reading and writing? How do you keep up with that?
2. What do your reading mini-lessons focus on and do you have any professional books that guide you?
3. Do you conduct small group instruction in reading workshop (i.e. guided reading)?
Thanks

 

I’ll take these one at a time.  🙂

Do your students maintain daily journaling for both reading and writing? How do you keep up with that?

My students do not journal.  Instead, they have a writer’s notebook, where they write a few times each week.  I do not check these, other than spot-checking that the homework is done when assigned.  Once a marking period, my students use a rubric to assess their notebooks.  Honestly, they are their own toughest critics!  It works out well and forces them to think about the work they do.  I love it!  I designed postcards for the students to use to assess their work and it’s simple and easy.  I then collect the postcards and record the grade.  While they assess, I walk around and look over their shoulder to make sure I agree with their assessment. I haven’t had a single issue yet.

My students do not journal in reading.  Instead, I require monthly letter-essays.  Here is my post explaining how letter-essays work.

2. What do your reading mini-lessons focus on and do you have any professional books that guide you?

My mini-lessons are strategy-based.  I base the lessons on what my students need.  I use a ton of professional books, but these are my absolute favorites:

Reading

Writing
Do you conduct small group instruction in reading workshop (i.e. guided reading)?
I do not use guided reading in my workshop, but I do meet with small groups as I see the need.  I will pull students that I see need extra time or practice with me.  I also use a lot of book clubs and literature circles.