What Do You Want to Know- Question #8

From Abby:

Sarah, this might be a silly question, but it’s something I’ve always wondered about: what do teachers do on inservice days? Do you have staff training? Meetings? Planning/organization time? Or something completely different?

Ooh!  This is an easy one.  And one I always wondered about when I was a student.

In-service days aren’t very exciting.  They usually consist of either meetings or professional development.  In the past, my district has brought in speakers for different departments.  We also sometimes meet for department meetings.  This past year, most of my in-service days have been devoted to the restructuring that my district is going through.  Like I said, nothing very exciting.  And the teachers are always very jealous of the students who either get to go home after a half-day or not even come to school at all when we all have to be there.

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

WORTH THE WAIT.

Unreal. Amazing. Heart-stopping. Gut-wrenching. Mind-blowing. Just a few of the superlatives that describe Suzanne Collin’s Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games).

Yes, I was one of the lucky ones who scored an ARC of Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games) at BEA. I started reading on Sunday and have been dragging it out ever since. I just didn’t want the experience to end! However, I have two classrooms full of students clamoring for their chance with the book. Plus, I want to reread it now.  It’s just that good.  Of course, now I have to wait even longer for the third book in the series to come out.  And talk about ending on a cliff-hanger!

Scholastic has asked that no one reveal plot details so that everyone gets a spoiler-free experience when the book is published in September. But what I can tell you is that Suzanne Collins has outdone herself. I read a lot of books and many times can see twists and turns coming from a mile away. But not with this book, no sirree. Collins blew my mind at some points and had me gasping at others. Her world building is impeccable and her characterization continues to amaze me.  The plotting starts out a bit slower, because this is a sequel.  But hang in there, because Collins outdoes herself almost immediately.  

Preorder this one now, because it’s only going to get bigger.  

And I need someone to talk to this one about!!!!!