2008 Books

I was just looking over my Amazon wishlist, noting how many of the titles have release dates in 08 when I stumbled on this post over at Chasing Ray. To join in the throng of kidlitters who have already posted lists, here are the books I am most looking forward to reading in 2008!

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson: I can not wait to read this. I managed to snag an ARC at ALA Midwinter and it is at the top of my to-be-read pile. Reviews have been glowing and it has a gorgeous cover! Plus, I love butterflies, so the cover immediately caught my eye. This sounds like a great read and I think I have a few students this year who will also enjoy the novel.

Trouble by Gary Schmidt: I know almost nothing about this novel, other than the fact that Gary Schmidt wrote it. And that’s more than enough for me!

Sweethearts: I just finished reading Sarah Zarr’s “Story of a Girl”, which was amazing. I am looking forward to getting a copy of her newest novel because I love the way she so expertly captures the voice of the average high schooler. This sounds like a great friendship novel.

Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myer: To be honest, I think this novel appeals to me because I have friends fighting in Iraq. Walter Dean Myers captures “the moment” so well in all of his books and I am sure that this one will be no different.
Rumors: A Luxe Novel (The Luxe) by Anna Godbersen I admit it. I am dying to know what happens next in this series!

The Sky Inside by Clare Dunkle Another book that I have seen reviewed sporadically, as ARCs begin to trickle out into the wider world. Dystopian novels are some of my favorites, so this sounds right up my alley!

Two Stephenie Meyer books are on my list. First up, her debut adult novel-

    The Host: A Novel

Then……the latest in the Twilight Saga.

    Breaking Dawn.

Out of the Wild by Sarah Beth Durst Because I adored the first one so much! I am looking forward to this publishing date.

Also on my radar: the newest book in the Percy series (Rick Riordan), Rick Riordan’s new project with Scholastic, “The Willoughbys” by Lois Lowry. And I am sure many, many more!

Leave a comment