Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories of Growing up Scieszka by Jon Scieszka

I was going to do a formal review of Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories of Growing up Scieszka this weekend. But then I booktalked it to both classes yesterday. And I haven’t seen it since!

Perhaps this is even better than a formal review. 🙂 When I read a few chapters aloud to my students, they were literally in hysterics. There were shouts of, “I’ve done that!” and “My mom would flip out if she knew I did this stuff, too!”. It especially seemed to connect with boys but I had quite a few girls ask to get on the waiting list, too. Thank goodness our librarian just got her copy of Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories of Growing up Scieszka in this week, because I know about 20 6th graders who are going to be fighting for that copy, too!

This is a fantastic book for reluctant readers and readaholics. And for anyone who has grown up with younger brothers and sisters and done all of those things your mom would die over if she found out about. I am the oldest of six and felt like I was reading about my own life, especially when Jon talked about his adventures in Catholic school and adopting “Pagan babies” in Africa. If you don’t have this one in your classroom library, you need it!

4 Responses

  1. I read this recently too and found myself laughing several times. I convinced my husband to read it (who is the oldest of 5, 4 of whom are boys) and he was in hysterics over it. The cat/road trip chapter was the worst (or rather best) for him. I’ve recommended it to my in-laws.

    Oh this is a “childrens book”?! 🙂 It’s on my mental list to put in the hands of my nephews this weekend when I have them as a captive audience. The short chapters and very engaging stories will be a big hit with them.

  2. My students loved The Invention of Hugo Cabret. I just realized that it is available in Spanish now too (or maybe it already has been for a while but I just didn’t know). I can’t wait to see this new book as well. It is great that you are noticing reluctant readers and readaholics alike are devouring the book. It is always nice to have a book that a wide range of readers can enjoy together.

  3. I was going to take this book in to share with my class today, but snow got in the way (darn the luck!), but I will be sharing it with them tomorrow. I anticipate that it will fly off the shelves as well.

    Fun, fun book!

  4. I love when fighting over a book happens at the school library (or any library). I remember certain books that had mile long waiting lists at our school library. 🙂 So fun.

Leave a comment