Calamity Jack by Shannon and Dean Hale

I loved Shannon and Dean Hale’s (and the incomparable Dean Hale- no-relation’s illustrations) Rapunzel’s Revenge. See my review here.
Calamity Jack is the rip-roaring sequel to the first graphic novel and is so.much.fun! Tweens will gobble this one up, as it appeals to boys and girls. A retelling of “Jack and the Beanstalk”, the Hales have rewritten the story with a steampunk twist. This time Jack takes the reins, and he and Rapunzel are headed back to his hometown to settle a few financial issues.  But when they get there Jack learns that a few things have changed since he ran away.  The “giant” tycoons have taken over and the city is dirty, gritty, and full of thieves.  Have no fear, though- Jack and Rapunzel are here to save the day!

Hand this one to graphic novel lovers, fairy tale retelling lovers, and adventure lovers.  The illustrations are gorgeous, the dialogue will have you laughing out loud, and the story is perfect.  Highly recommended for middle school libraries!

*review copy courtesy of the publisher

4 Responses

  1. I bought this for my middle schoolers. I think they will really like it!

  2. I’ve actually never read a graphic novel. I just haven’t been drawn to them, I guess. But I’m very intrigued by your review, and you can’t go wrong with a book by Shannon Hale. I think it’s time to try out the genre. 🙂

    Thanks for the review! This is my first time visiting your site, and I’ve bookmarked it to ensure future visits!

    Betsy Parkes
    the-best-childrens-books.org

  3. Definitely a great choice for reluctant tween readers. Make sure to pick up Rupnzel’s Revenge first!

  4. […] Reviews: Bart’s Bookshelf, Fantasy Book Critic, The Reading Zone, and more at the Book Blogs Search Engine. Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the […]

Leave a comment