Borders Takes Aim at Teens

If you’ve been reading my blog long then you know my list of woes when it comes to Borders (my local shop, at least).   From booksellers refusing to sell specific books to my students to the store not carrying highly popular books and never offering to special order them for customers.  Plus, I can NEVER find anything in that store because the middle grade books are divided into ridiculous categories.  However, I am excited to hear that the company is creating a new teen section.  

The Borders Ink shops, which will stock graphic novels, fantasy and young-adult titles together, are expected to be available in 80% to 90% of the 513 superstores Borders operates nationwide by the end of August. Some have already opened in Michigan.

There is a picture in the Wall Street Journal and it looks great!  Kids loving having a space of their own so I think this will be a big hit.  I don’t love the fact that they will be selling “toys”, too (reminds me of the Scholastic book clubs and their non-book items), but anything related to reading and making reading cool works for me!

I’ll be sure to check out the new section when my local store gets one.  What about you?

One Response

  1. Ours just switched over and I did like the openess of it and the fact that they started to put everything in one section. Two downsides…..n my store at least YA moved over to the graphic novel section (near sci-fi) & the shelves seemed really high…hard to reach and see some of the titles.

    Another downside….the early chapter books were moved to a place that was quite hidden.

    We’ll see…..

Leave a comment