Cybils

I am so excited about the Cybil announcements!  Check them out here. I am happy with the awards and you can expect more in-depth analysis when I get back. Congratulations to all the winners! 

Monarchs in Flight

I will be on a 6:10am flight to Mexico City on Saturday morning!  I am so very excited about this fellowship.  Over the course of eight days I will visit Mexico City, the monarch reserves El Rosario and Sierra Chincua, Museum of Anthropology, Alternare, Morelia, Patzcuaro, Tzintzunzan, Janitzio, Lady of Guadalupe shrine, Teotihuacan, Pyramid of the Sun, Templo Mayor, and the National Palace.

Seeing the monarchs is supposed to be a magical experience.  I have my writer’s notebook packed and I am hoping to get a lot of writing done.  The poem below is a Native American blessing that my classes and I say when we release our monarchs each fall.

If anyone desires a wish to come true they must first capture a butterfly and whisper that wish to it.

Since a butterfly can make no sound, the butterfly can not reveal the wish to anyone but the Great Spirit who hears and sees all.

In gratitude for giving the beautiful butterfly its freedom, the Great Spirit always grants the wish.

So, according to legend, by making a wish and giving the butterfly its freedom, the wish will be taken to the heavens and be granted.

The following line is often added when the Legend is read prior to releasing butterflies at a wedding:

We have gathered to grant this couple all our best wishes and are about to set these butterflies free in trust that all these wishes will be granted.

I will be gone for 8 days.  Stay safe and keep blogging!!