Slice of Life Day 31

Back in February, I introduced the Slice of Life Challenge to my 9th-grade students.  I challenged each of them to blog for 31 days in March (and required each of them to blog at least ten times during the month).  There was a lot of moaning and groaning when I handed out the assignment.

Today is the last day of the challenge and the majority of my students blogged for all 31 days!  Many of them posted reflections today, and I’ve been tearing up while reading them.  They’ve learned so much during this project and it makes my heart grow three sizes bigger.  I love that they get to know each other better by reading and commenting.  I love that I get to know them better.  I love that they become better writers and build stamina.  It’s honestly one of the best projects I do in my class.  I don’t repeat many projects from year to year, but Slice of Life is a non-negotiable for me.

Now that the month is over most of my students will stop blogging, but a few will continue on their own.  I have a student interested in starting a book club, a student interested in starting a music review blog, and a few looking into current events/politics blogs.  How awesome is that?

Weekly Diigo Posts (weekly)

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.