Slice of Life # 25

Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie so I’ve been looking forward to the live-action remake for months.  In addition, I love Emma Watson.  Hermione and Belle would clearly be friends if they ever met so it makes sense that the same actress would play them, right?

Chris bought us tickets to see the movie about a week and a half ago and I’ve been looking forward to it ever since.  I didn’t read any in-depth reviews this week and I’ve been trying to avoid most of the articles about the movie.  I walked into the theater today ready to be blown away.

I was not disappointed.

Disney did a fantastic job this time around.  The casting was spot-on.  Emma Watson, while not the world’s strongest singer, was a perfect Belle and I was perfectly content with her voice.  Luke Evans, who played Gaston, was incredible.  And of course, Josh Gad as LeFou was perfection.  He and Evans had some of the best lines in film.

This version filled in some of the plot holes in the animated version (why did no one know about the Prince?  Why was no one looking for all of those people who turned into furniture?!) and added a few new songs.  I was a bit disappointed that they played “Home”, from the Broadway production, in the background a few times but never performed it.  However, they may have made up for it with the production value of “Gaston” and “Be Our Guest”!

If you have not seen the movie yet I highly recommend it.  It’s a great addition to the canon.

One Response

  1. Excellent! I haven’t seen it yet but have wanted to. I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

