Slice of Life #23- Migraine

I can count on one hand how many times I’ve left school early due to illness over the past twelve years. But today was one of those days. 

The plague seems to be going around school so I was a little worried when I suddenly felt weird during 3rd period. I brushed it off because I felt fine all morning prior to that. The plague going around has been knocking out kids and teachers for 3-5 days at a time so I tried not to think about it. I’d felt fine just minutes before!

Well that was dumb. Within an hour I was incapacitated by blinding pain in my head, overcome by dizziness, nauseous from the pain, and barely able to see straight. It was so bad that I couldn’t get my plans together for the afternoon and had to rely on my emergency plans. 

I made it home, let the dogs out (because puppies don’t care if you are sick when nature calls), and locked myself in a dark room with them. I slept for three hours and woke up feeling foggy but better. The dogs were fabulous and just cuddled on the bed while I slept. 

I’m feeling better now, though I’m still sensitive to bright lights and I can feel the echo of a headache in my head.  I’ve only gotten a migraine once before, years ago, so it didn’t even cross my mind as the cause of my illness until I was functioning as a human again. I’m hoping I don’t experience it again anytime soon. 

One Response

  1. Those migraines are horrible. Get well!

Leave a Reply

