Slice of #22

For some reason, I thought it was going to be warm today. Needless to say, I was a little shocked when I walked outside this morning and found it was close to freezing. And it was expected to get colder all day!

Despite the cold, I was looking forward to going home after school. I was finally free after school so I could take the dogs for a nice walk.  Now that the clocks have changed the sun is still in the sky until dinner time so I don’t even need to rush after school. 

We managed to walk about two miles today.  I live across the street from a county park with at least ten miles of trails. It’s my go-to spot for walks during the school year. Today we took the wooded path and the dogs enjoyed smelling everything and marking every tree in sight. It was so refreshing spending time hiking. Even if it was cold!

The dogs are now tired which means the walk was a success. I’m looking forward to the day when spring weather is here to stay!

5 Responses

  1. I’m ready for warmth as well, and it absolutely was not warm here today. Sounds like you had a glorious afternoon.

  2. Your journey always seems wonderful .Keep writing !!

    Keep coming on my site to read my writings and sharing your feedback in your free time .

    Happy Moments !!

    Payal

  3. Good afternoon. I have a question for you after reading a post you wrote a number of years ago re: reading aloud to your students every day. My question arises because my 6th graders class just finished a book that I thought they were reading independently. She later corrected me and said the book was read to them. Personally, I think reading to 6th graders is a bit of a stretch, but that’s neither here nor there. My next assumption was that the teacher had read the book to them. My daughter immediately clarified that for me, as well. The teacher did not read. It was read to them via audio book.

    What are your thoughts on that? I found it very impersonal on the part of the teacher and very frustrating. We’re not paying tuition at a school to have her read to by a recording. Maybe it’s just me, but that seems wrong. Any thoughts?

    Thanks for you input.

    • Hi! Read alouds are incredibly valuable for students at all ages. https://ww2.kqed.org/mindshift/2013/05/14/why-reading-aloud-to-older-children-is-valuable/

      I always preferred reading aloud to my students but I don’t think an audiobook is the worst. I advise teachers to do the reading themselves but audiobooks have value, too. Perhaps you can reach out to the teacher and ask her about the audiobook?

      • Thank you! I gave some thought to your references in the blog post as having been read to as a fond memory. I have to agree with that and would retract my statement that it’s a stretch to read to them at that age. I know my daughter still likes me to read to her. I was more puzzled by the fact that they weren’t being read to for pleasure, or for a little down time in the afternoon, etc. But it’s an assigned book for which there will be spelling tests and vocabulary assignments, etc. I’m not an expert on how the brain works, but seeing a word vs. hearing a word seems more helpful in terms of spelling and meaning.

        The one thing I do know for sure is school is nothing like I remember! Thanks so much for you comments in return. I appreciate you taking the time to answer.

        Lisa

Leave a Reply

