Slice of Life #13

Middletown

Freehold Regional

Holmdel

Monmouth Regional

After school I watched as the school closings piled up. My school is county-wide so once the biggest districts close we tend to follow suit. By 5pm most districts had called a snow day for tomorrow. 

I checked my phone. Ringer on? Yup. Do not disturb turned off? Yup. Still no call though!

Around 5:45 my phone buzzed and I quickly grabbed it. A text message, not a phone call. I had to laugh, though. The text was from NXLE, the emergency management service. NJ had declared a state of emergency. 

State of emergency but still no call from my district! Realistically, I knew we were closing. But the call had to come, right?

Finally, a little before 7pm, the call finally came. Snow day tomorrow!

2 Responses

  1. Yay! I just read your slice from Sunday and wondered if you got one. Enjoy your day today!

  2. Around here, “Snow Day” means the busses are cancelled, but school is still open. For that reason I have never had a call from school on a snow day. I have to get the news on the radio like everyone else. And we have never known the night before – always at 6:00 the day of. Enjoy your day off!

Leave a Reply

