Slice of Life #5- Library Card

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

As an avid reader I am embarrassed to admit this: I have not had a library card since I was  a little kid.  Ok, I haven’t had a library card for my local library.  I have a grad school library card (for e-access) and I have a library card for the community college library at school.  However, I have not had a regular old town/county library card in many, many years.

This weekend I decided to change that.  The town I grew up in has its own library system, independent of the county system, so when I moved here I never made it to the library.  My to-be-read pile, both physical and virtual, is huge an ever-growing so I didn’t need the card.  However, I’ve started to listening to audiobooks on my commute, in place of the news, and I burned through all of last summer’s free offerings.  I also used up my Audible credits.  When I realized I was running out of books to listen to I decided it was time to get a library card so that I could borrow books through Overdrive.

Saturday morning I headed over the library.  (The main branch is in the next town over). I walked in and headed to the circulation desk.  Imagine my surprise when a former student was behind the desk!  She’s 22 now (eek!) and I had her when I taught 6th grade.  I was definitely mortified, as she probably wondered why her voracious reader English teacher did not already have a library card, but we had a great conversation.  I love seeing former students who have grown into wonderful adults….even when it makes me feel old.

I walked out of the library a few minutes later with my new library card.  I’ve already borrowed my first audiobook (American Girls: Social Media and the Secret Lives of Teenagers) and I’ve jumped on the holds list for a few others.  I’m thrilled to be a card-carrying member of the library again!

3 Responses

  1. I enjoyed reading about your adventure going for the library card, and also found it fascinating how our reading has changed! Getting a library card so you can borrow books on overdrive! Love it! Good reading.

  2. Woo hoo! Yay for the card, but no shame here. I have one, but rarely use it. My to read stacks are threatening to topple over, much like yours. I don’t listen to a ton of audio books – my Audible credits are stacking up. My commute to school is three minutes at best, so I save audiobooks for a long drive. Excited you got the chance to get a card, though. Enjoy the audiobooks!

  3. I just checked that book out the other day. It looks promising!

Leave a Reply

