Slice of Life #24- What I Learned Driving from NJ to the Bronx

I love and adore my grad school program.  I’m working towards my master’s in biology through Miami Ohio University/Project Dragonfly’s Advanced Inquiry Program. It’s a hybrid program and classes are split between an online component and in-person class meetings at my master institution.  My master institution is the Wildlife Conservation Society in New York City so most of my classes are at the Bronx Zoo.

I had class tonight and while sitting in traffic I started thinking of all of the non-academic things I’ve learned while driving back and forth from NJ to the Bronx.  Enjoy my slightly facetious and sarcastic list!

  • The Hamilton cast recording is the perfect length to get me through the whole trip.
  • Related, I can play all of the parts in when performing it in my car.  Still working on Daveed Digg’s ridiculous rap in”Guns and Ships”, though.
  • I hate traffic.  There’s a reason my work commute is 25 minutes through rural-suburban towns.
  • The commute to the zoo can take anywhere from 1 hour and 20 minutes to 3 hours.  Tonight it took almost 2 and a half hours.
  • The George Washington Bridge is ridiculously long.
  • I can drive in the Bronx.
  • I can drive in Fort Lee.
  • I can hold my own with crazy New York drivers.
  • There is a distinct lack of public transportation options between NJ and anywhere that is not Manhattan.
  • None of the March Madness games are broadcast on the radio.
  • Hamilton by Ron Chernow is a great audiobook to listen to while commuting.
  • I’d rather take the long way up the Henry Hudson Parkway than suffer through the hell that is the Cross Bronx Expressway.
  • I can identify most of the gorillas in Congo (exhibit) by sight.
  • It’s pretty cool walking through the dark, empty zoo.  Lots of animals make noise at night when there are no visitors!

These are just a few of the things I came up with while driving home tonight.  Thankfully, the ride home only took an hour and thirty minutes!

I love this program and I learn so much every time we have class.  But man do I dread the commute!

 

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

3 Responses

  1. This sounds like the coolest master’s program! I used to commute an hour each way to school by myself, sometimes with a co-worker. I enjoyed the conversation and the time spent (at 20 minutes each day totally on my own) with good radio. Now, I go nowhere by myself. I alway have at least one child with me. That means no talk radio. I miss it.🙂

  2. I spent many hours traveling between my home in Connecticut and my son’s in Brooklyn over the past year, so I can absolutely relate to your pain! I found that podcasts and audiobooks saved my sanity. Your program does sound amazing, though, which makes it all worthwhile.

  3. The Bronx Zoo is one of my favorite places in the city! We used to be members when I was little and I distinctly remember when they created the Congo exhibit and it was impossible to get in to see it! Sounds like your program is worth that drive!

Leave a Reply

