Slice of Life #8

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today it was 65 degrees.  Today the sun was shining and the sky was blue.  Today was the perfect day for a long hike.

After school I changed into hiking clothes (my spring hiking clothes!  Not flannel-lined pants!) and packed up the dogs.  The days are getting longer so I decided to try to get a few miles in at Thompson Park.  Because I wanted to avoid the crowded side of the park I ended up driving around a bit in an effort to find a parking lot that didn’t bring us into the middle of the main, paved trail.  Because my dog hikes are also birdwatching hikes I prefer to stay on the unpaved trails and in the woods.

Eventually I found a parking lot that was across the street from the county park.  This lot did not have a gate so I didn’t have to worry about the possibility of getting locked in the park.  By 4pm we were on the trail, feet squishing into the mud.

We walked up and down the hills of the park for about 90 minutes and 3 miles.  I spotted common mergansers, savannah sparrows (lifer!), mute swans, bluebirds, red-winged black birds, robins, a red-tailed hawk, and some deer.  We didn’t leave until 5:50pm and I didn’t need a jacket or a hat.  I love spring!  Now I just need the spring bird migration to start….

3 Responses

  1. […] Source: Slice of Life #8 […]

  2. Amazing pictures! Yes indeed, spring is here! I love your blog. Keep gracing us with a Slice of Life#blogger#springtime#artinitspursetform

  3. Great photos and what gorgeous dogs! My goodness! We’ve been having unseasonably warm weather here and I’m itching to get out for a hike too.

Leave a Reply

