Slice of Life #8- Always Look on the Bright Side of Life!

IMG_2322Last night Chris and I drove down to Moorestown, NJ to see his cousin perform as King Arthur in Spamalot! They are one of the first high schools to perform this show since it left Broadway and they did an awesome job.  This part was made for him; Chris and I spent the entire time laughing hysterically!  The snow meant that our first attempt at seeing the show was aborted but we were thrilled to make it down last night for the closing show.

During intermission you could take pictures with King Arthur and his can of Spam, which of course we did.  I can’t believe he did this at every show and then got back on stage a few minutes later.  But he did! At the end of intermission Chris leaned over to me and said, “Something is going to happen to my dad.  My uncle told me to keep an eye on him”.

Once the second act started I think we promptly forgot about this face. Well, at the very end of of the play Chris’ dad was pulled up on stage!  When King Arthur asked his name he responded, without hesitation, “Uncle Carl!”.  Needless to say, the entire place burst out laughing!  He won his very own “Arthur” award and even got a trophy to take home.  While this was all occurring I was watching Chris, who I had never seen laugh so hard.  It was awesome!

And then, during the wedding at the end of the show, I caught the bouquet.  So now I have a beautiful vase full of peach roses which are bringing a little bit of spring into our house.  That’s a pretty good night all around!

I do love Spamalot because it brings back some great memories.  I’ve always been a big nerd and as a result I’ve always hung out with a lot of nerds, too.  As you can probably imagine, I always had friends who were going through a Monty Python stage.  At any given time in my life someone was quoting from the various movies and sketches so when the musical would call upon some of these same lines I was a very happy camper.

Congratulations to Moorestown High School for an awesome performance!

IMG_2345

*Also exciting?  One of the Philadelphia news anchors was at the show.  We were very starstruck.  :)

3 Responses

  1. So much fun! I have a couple of seniors who have just discovered Monty Python and so we were laughing over skits — and we watched the Bring Out Your Dead part of The Holy Grail. Then I had to show them a clip from the musical — they didn’t know about Spamalot! Now…to see if I can find my coconuts again to let them have a crack at them.🙂

  2. I used to live around the corner from Moorestown High School! There’s a real tradition of fabulous theatre there. 🙂 Congratulations to your cousin for being awesome.

  3. Love that show–we saw it on Broadway and the Brookdale and Phoenix Productions last year. So glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

