Slice of Life #6- Snow Day Schedule (Teacher Version)

5:45AM- Chris wakes me up to see if we are walking the dogs.  I remind him that I have a delayed opening and will be taking the dogs to doggie daycare to make sure they are tired when we go out later tonight.  In other words, no walk.

7:00AM- Alarm goes off.  I check my phone, see that school hasn’t been cancelled, and proceed to get ready for the day.  This involves playing in the backyard with the dogs, feeding them, then getting dressed.  Oh, and warming up the car!

7:40AM- Pack the dogs into the car while reading a text message from Chris.  He says the roads were awful on his way to work.

7:41AM- Receive last minute phone call that school has been cancelled.  Ok, but now I am up and dressed.  Text doggie daycare to say I’ll be late in hopes that the ice on the roads melts.

7:45AM- Eat breakfast and read.

8:30AM-9:30AM- Take the dogs to doggie daycare; stay and play with all the dogs for a bit.

9:30AM- Drive home.  Spend the next hour or so cleaning up.

10:30AM- Play with the cat. Read.

11:00AM-12:pm-  Go to bridal salon and try on bridesmaid dresses for my brother’s wedding this summer.  It’s a painful process but I’m glad I am able to get it done on this snow day.  Choose a dress.  End up choosing one I never would have picked before trying it on. Order dress.

12:30-1:30PM- Lunch.  It’s Friday and it’s Lent, so that means a tuna sub.  Read while eating lunch.

1:30-3:00PM- Various things around the house while catching up on Nashville.  Tweet about how awesome Laura Benanti is this season and freak out when she favorites the tweet.

3:00PM- Make a lot of phone calls. File complaint with USPS because I am only getting mail every other day.

3:30PM- Leave to pick up dogs.

4:00-5:00PM- End up hanging out and playing with dogs.

5:00-6:00PM- Read, finish episode of Nashville, work on grading.

6:00PM- Chris gets home.  He tells me the mailman threw our mail on the ground in front of the mailbox.  We live on a main road and the mailbox is across the street so I am furious.  Run out to get package and get angrier when I discover it’s a huge package from Algonquin Books that has been buried in the snow.  Lodge another complaint with the post office.

6:15PM- Order pizza for dinner. (Lent).  Pick up pizza.

7:00PM- Eat dinner. Catch up on TV with Chris.

8:00PM-10:00PM- Two episodes of House of Cards Season 3.  Two episode of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (which is awesome!).

10:00-11:00PM- Plan for early morning science enrichment class hike tomorrow.  Print birding activity. Write slice of life post.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

3 Responses

  1. Catherine! I love your day. Must check out Nashville. Also your tweet and oh how I miss my dog now! What are you reading? Pic of you in the dress please! Beautiful snow day… Too much driving required however – don’t they deliver pizza there? Too hot for this whole winter in sunny and DRY California. Love sharing your experience!

  2. I love these details! This was a great snow day schedule and was right there with you when you got that last minute cancellation for school. Ugh. I love, love, love Nashville. Rayna James FOREVER–er, Connie Britton and Friday Night Lights. My mail has also been delayed without explanation (I live in Boston), and I get the rage against the postman. Hope the next day was better.

Leave a Reply

