Slice of Life #5- Snow Day Slow Day

Happy snow day!!!  Last night we got the call that today school would be closed due to the impending storm.  And it certainly was a storm!  The snow began to fall around 7am and didn’t stop until close to 7pm.  Over the course of the day we received almost 9 inches of snow, light and fluffy.  The flakes alternated between large and fluffy and light and heavy all day long.  As a result, my yard looks just gorgeous.  The bird feeders were packed all day (I spotted a new species!  A yellow-bellied sapsucker!), the dogs enjoyed playtime in the snow, and the people spent some time relaxing.

I love snow days because all of my to-do lists and schedules disappear.  I tend to be more productive on snow days and I think it’s because I have more time to relax.  Today I baked cookies, did a bit of grading, played outside, helped shovel the driveway, and read two books.  No snow day is complete unless I take advantage of the extra reading time.

My first book today was Aisha Saeed’s upcoming Written in the Stars, which will be released on March 24th.  I admit that I judged this book by its beautiful cover, but I also assumed it was just another YA romance.  I could not have been more wrong.  Naila’s conservative immigrant parents are furious when they discover that she has been seeing a boy behind their back.  But their reaction?  Suffice it to say that the family vacation to Pakistan comes with ulterior motives.  I read this in one sitting and had tears in my eyes during more than one chapter. It’s a harrowing story that left me angry, upset, and with the feeling that I need to do something.

I highly recommend Written in the Stars for high school classrooms.  Upon finishing it I immediately thought of pairing it with Patricia McCormick’s Sold, another stunning look at women’s issues across the world.  Books can open our eyes and Written in the Stars certainly does so.  I wouldn’t be surprised to see this on some award lists later in the year.  A powerful story that will inspire you to appreciate the freedom many of us have while becoming more aware of those who don’t have that freedom.

How did you spend your snow day?  Did you read any good books?

One Response

  1. On snow days I usually stay in my pajammas and indulge myself in doing not much more than nothing – or reading a good book. All day.

Leave a Reply

