Slice of Life #2- Here Comes the Sun

This has been a winter full of strange weather.  Yesterday around 11am it started snowing.  I was teaching my SAT prep class and assumed that the snow was starting later in the day.  Apparently the snow had different ideas.

Then, before class ended, the snow turned to slush.  By mid-afternoon my weather app told me there were ice pellets falling from the clouds.  I confirmed this when I took the dogs out to play in the backyard. Ice pellets are not fun, y’all.

By yesterday evening the district had determined that a delayed opening would be necessary due to the icy roads.  So we went to bed with plans to get up and shovel in the morning, in the hopes that this would lessen the amount of black ice we would end up dealing with.

At 6:30am this morning, when we ventured outside,  it was cold.  The ground was icy and the snow was heavy.  I’ll spare you the details, but shoveling was not fun.  I wasn’t looking forward to another icy, slushy, snowy day so I found my warmest sweater, threw on a scarf, and headed off o work.

At work my classroom is in the basement, so I only get glimpses of the outside world.  Imagine my surprise when I left the building at 3:30pm and discovered the sun was out!  And it was warm!  In fact, I didn’t even need my coat!  Ok, maybe that’s because I was wearing a heavy wool sweater, but still!

Thanks to the sun’s warm rays I was able to walk the dogs at the park today, which we haven’t been able to do in a few days.  The dogs followed some deer trails, I listened to the birds singing in the sun-dappled trees, and we all enjoyed the fresh air.  What a difference the sun makes!  Plus, the sun sticks around longer now that we have entered March.  It’s almost spring!

A little while ago I checked the weather app and was dismayed to see it’s going to be slushy and icy tomorrow.  And Thursday we may get the biggest snowstorm of the year.

But you know what?  The sun was out today.  And it was almost warm.  We are getting there!  Soon enough we’ll all be complaining about the heat and humidity; for now, we can enjoy the weather as it comes.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

5 Responses

  1. The sun was out today in the Chicago area, too. Unfortunately, the freezing rain will hit right around the morning rush hour tomorrow. Hopefully this bout of snow and cold will be short-lived. Bring on Spring!

  2. Love the way the sun shines through and the great surprise it is as you come up from your basement room. Your dogs are adorable? Aussies?

  3. I love the sun, and your post reminded me to be grateful for those surprising sunny moments- like today! Ready for spring!

  4. I hadn’t heard about Thursday…now I am truly depressed. This has been a long winter!

Leave a Reply

