Slice of Life- March 3, 2013 #slice2013

Serendipity is the word of the day.

sols_6

On Wednesday, I spent some time at a local park, with a friend who volunteers there. At the end of our walk, she mentioned that another volunteer at the park had lost her beloved border collie a couple of months ago and she was hoping I could keep an eye out for any that came up for adoption. Another friend of mine runs a rescue and I’ve been looking at all the dogs recently, as my parents may be interested in adopting in the future. So I promised to keep an eye out.

Yesterday, I met that same friend when I was working at the park with my middle schoolers, and I knew she was the perfect dog mom. We exchanged numbers and I told her she would be the first to know if a border collie came in. She had been talking to a bunch of breed rescues for a few weeks but had been hitting dead ends.

Last night, I got a call that a group of dogs had just arrived from a kill shelter in West Virginia. I ended up heading over to help transport them to the rescue, in the hopes that my family would spot a puppy they liked in the mix. We were told there were 3 very young mixed breed puppies (only about 3 months old), a few puggles, some dachsunds, and a husky mix with blue eyes.

Well, I only needed to glance at the gorgeous blue-eyed mama to know she was a border collie mix. (After some research, I now think there’s a good chance she is a pure smooth coat border, actually!). She was found as a stray, with a 3 month old puppy that they believe is hers. This poor mama is not even a year old herself! Well, I sent a text to the friend-of-a-friend last night and she set up a meet-and-greet with the rescue this afternoon. I said I would stop by to take some pictures while they were there.

I arrived about 5 minutes late and I knew the pictures would not be necessary. The love between this family and the border collie was palpable. Everyone was in love. It was a match made in heaven!

Tonight, mama border collie has a loving family to adopt her, her very own backyard, and an appointment to be spayed (to go with her clean bill of health). Serendipity, I tell you. We didn’t expect a border collie to be in this group, and the family connected with me in the hope that I could introduce them to the rescue so that eventually they would find a new border collie for their family. But because I was looking for my family, I was able to make this amazing connection. And the gratitude from both humans and canine has made my week.

Enjoy your new life, mama border collie! You have a family that understands you and already loves you! I see a lot of running and fetching in your future, and a lot of cuddling.

Mama border collie, who did not stay still for my picture

Mama border collie, who did not stay still for my picture