Science Symposium #sol14

Today was the second (and final) day of the Monmouth Junior Science Symposium.  I love attending this event each year with the freshman and I always learn a lot.  This year, HTHS had a lot of students presenting papers and they all did a phenomenal job.  I was so proud of my seniors, who have become expert speakers and presenters over the last few years.  And the research they are doing?  Seriously, the world is in great hands. :)  Plus, one of our sophomores took second place overall, which is just incredible!

My favorite part of today was the keynote speaker.  A professor at Monmouth University, Dr. Gary Lewandowski studies relationships.  His presentation today was entitled “The Science of Love” and it was so apropos!  Just like the research my students have been doing alongside Romeo & Juliet, he talked about how the human brain reacts to love.  It was a funny and fascinating presentation and I loved all the connections my students made to Romeo & Juliet.  I couldn’t have planned it better myself! Plus, he told the audience about the best types of pick-up lines (cute ones) and the best time of day to ask someone out (in the morning, before the stress of the day sinks in).  I saw a lot of students taking notes!

But two days on field trips makes for one very tired Sarah.  I planned to write more about MJSS but I just don’t have the energy.  Sometimes, sleep is just more important!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,097 other followers

