Fitbit Love #sol14

This past Christmas I received a Fitbit.  I was intrigued and willing to give it a shot, but I wasn’t sure if it would stick.

 

Three months later, I haven’t taken it off.  Well, it has to charge once a week, but otherwise I wear it all day and night.  And it is awesome.

I’m pretty active, thanks to the dogs, so I wasn’t too worried about the step counter.  However, I didn’t realize how competitive I am.  I friended a few folks through Fitbit and suddenly I can’t lose to them.  I find myself checking my step counter a few times each day and if it seems low I start walking around my classroom, the hallway, and even the school more.  Looks like Fitbit knew what they were doing, at least when it comes to folks with a competitive streak!

But the real reason I was interested in the Fitbit was the sleep tracker.  I am a night owl and I frequently think I don’t get enough sleep.  The sleep tracker was designed to tell you how long you slept and how often you were restless or woke up.

The first night I used it I was impressed.  Three months later, I am blown away.  First, it turns out I sleep more than I thought.  Still not enough (who does?), but more than I previously imagined.  I used to think I tossed and turned a lot before falling asleep but it turns out that’s not true.  And thanks to the placebo effect, just seeing the chart each morning makes me feel more rested and ready for the day.

I also like tracking how I feel in relation to how I sleep.  Last week my average weekly hours slept decreased and I could tell even before I got my Fitbit report.  But now, thanks to the three months of data that I have, I can predict when I will feel run down and I can try to prevent it.  How cool is that?

Do you have any fitness trackers or sensors?  How do they work for you?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers