Reminiscing #sol14

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hTonight I chaperoned the school semiformal.  It was a little bittersweet for me, as it was the last non-prom dance for my seniors.  But it was adorable because everyone was dressed up and we even had a few promprosals (one of which I was able to participate in).

But the best part of tonight was when the student DJs played Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie”.  Immediately I was transported back to college.  Without hesitation I pulled out my phone and sent a text to my college girlfriends.

love you girls and miss you!  the dj at the school dance just played shakira’s “hips don’t lie” and it made me think of you! *szeretlek*

I wasn’t expecting a response as it was 9pm on a Friday night. We are spread up and down the East coast now and some of us have babies, new jobs, new friends, and other things that keep us occupied on a Friday night.  But almost immediately I got a response.

ahhh!  I’m having flashbacks!

And before I could respond, another text came in:

Hahah! Just leaving the gym and “slave 4 u” and “toxic” both came on my ipod!

We proceeded to reminisce for a few minutes via text and it was great to share those memories.  Music has played such a huge role in my life and certain songs always bring me back to different moments in my life.  Those three songs we talked about tonight transported me back to Douglass College circa 2001-2003.   I love that we can reach out to each other thanks to technology.  While we may not see each other as often as we did when we shared a dorm, we can still get in touch with the pressing of a few buttons.  Those girls are still my best friends and I don’t know what I would do without them.

Now if only we could find some time to hang out!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,858 other followers