Saying Goodbye #sol14

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hMy brain is shot, so this will be a short slice of life.

In between the myriad of things I have to do this week, I also wrote a goodbye letter to my seniors.  It will be published in the yearbook so it’s due tonight.

It’s the hardest piece I’ve ever written.

This is “my” class.  I started teaching at HTHS when they arrived as freshmen.  When I signed on as the Class of 2014 advisor it seemed like 2014 was light years away.  Suddenly, it’s here.

The kids are in the middle of planning prom and graduation.  Some of them have senioritis.  There are days when I can’t wait for graduation.  But those days are few and far between.

Who will quote Mean Girls with me next year?  Who will send me frantic emails about baked goods in the middle of the night?  Who will make me laugh?  These seniors are amazing and I can’t imagine the school without them.  But I’m so proud of them and I know they are going to accomplish great things in the years to come.  I just wish it didn’t mean saying goodbye to them.

 

One Response

  1. I remember when you transitioned to teaching high school, Sarah. I can’t believe it’s been almost four school years. Wow!

    This is the end of an era. I’m sure they’ll come back to visit, but it won’t be the same (you know that and I know that).

    Enjoy the last few months of them being in the same building as you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,977 other followers

