Threatened by Eliot Schrefer

It’s no secret that I am a huge fan of Eliot Schrefer’s Endangered.  When I was able to get an advance copy of the next book in the Ape quartet at NCTE I was absolutely thrilled.  I may have begged my copy off of my good friend Jen, who would think I was insane if she wasn’t a book nut herself! Luckily, she was kind enough to give me the copy she picked up at the Scholastic book because they were all out by the time I got there.

When I got back from NCTE I was busy reading lots of Cybils nominees but I knew that Threatened would be one of the first books I read once my responsibilities to the Cybils were accomplished. Right before New Year’s Eve, after the shortlists were completed, I sat down and read Threatened in a single sitting.

Needless to say, I loved it. I can’t wait to share this with students and have discussions with those who have also read Endangered.  I think bonobos are still my favorite primates, but chimpanzees are fascinating.

Because I don’t want reinvent (rewrite?) the wheel, below is the flap copy for Threatened:

Into the jungle. Into the wild. Into harm’s way.

When he was a boy, Luc’s mother would warn him about the “mock men” living in the trees by their home — chimpanzees whose cries would fill the night.

Luc is older now, his mother gone. He lives in a house of mistreated orphans, barely getting by. Then a man calling himself Prof comes to town with a mysterious mission. When Luc tries to rob him, the man isn’t mad. Instead, he offers Luc a job.

Together, Luc and Prof head into the rough, dangerous jungle in order to study the elusive chimpanzees. There, Luc finally finds a new family — and must act when that family comes under attack.

This is a book that will grab you by the heartstrings and leave you gasping out loud. Heartbreaking, tragic, and triumphant, you will want to reach into the pages and help Luc and the chimpanzees in turn. There are no easy answers in Threatened, and I think that’s what I love most about it.  It’s a story about tragedy, triumph, conservation, AIDs, eco-tourism, Gabon, imperialism, the past, and the future.

Luc is an AIDs orphan whose sole focus is survival.  He’s been mistreated by the people around and left to fend for himself.  Is it any wonder that he dreams of building a home far from the city he is forced to live in? And Prof is mysterious and sad while dedicated to the study of chimpanzees.  Both characters are fully realized

Threatened  will be released next month and I highly recommend it for middle school and high school libraries.  It will be a terrific book club choice and I hope to see it honored with an award sticker or two in the coming months! Get your preorders in now!

One Response

  1. […] month I reviewed an ARC of Eliot Schrefer’s new novel, Threatened .  Today is the day it’s released in […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,094 other followers

