Weekly Diigo Posts (weekly)

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Student Teaching! Ideas?

I am so excited that I will be working with a student teacher this semester!  But I’m also nervous.  As I keep telling her, I’ve only been a student teacher and I haven’t been a mentor for a student teacher yet!  I’m thrilled to be taking on this new challenge but I want to make sure I do everything I can to help her, so that’s where you guys come in!

So far, I’ve had her come in and observe our class a few times to get a feel for the crazy/strange schedule and my awesome kids.  She also has seen my co-teaching situation and saw it in action.  Before winter break we spoke and I recommended she look at a few books to get an idea of my education philosophy.  What books did I recommend?  Oh, you know, just a few of the best PD books out there!

I told her just to browse them and get a feel for my classroom and not to feel pressured to read them cover-to-cover.

Hopefully, she will also be coming in to spend another day observing the class but I’m hoping you guys have advise, too.  Have you had a student teacher?  What should I focus on?  And if you remember your own student teaching, what would you recommend I do?  I was blessed with an amazing and inspiring mentor teacher and if I can be half as good as she was I will be thrilled!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,593 other followers