Slice of Life March 25th, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

Today Chris and I discovered that the hospital wireless is decent enough to let patients stream from Netflix.  After browsing the recently added TV shows and movies, Chris said he wanted to give Dr. Who a try and I agreed.

Most of my friends are big Who fans.  Many, many, many of my students are huge Who fans.  (Is there a name for the Who fandom?)  Some of my students have been begging, or really demanding, me to give the show a try. I always have it on my list but we rarely have time to binge watch anything besides Downton Abbey, which  is in a class all its own.

So we decided today, in the hospital, would be the perfect excuse to sit down and give it a shot.  We browsed the many, many, many seasons and tried to decide where to start.  We quickly made the decision to skip the 60’s version and start with the 2005 Season 1 reboot.  We watched one episode with Rose and Nine (look at me, using the right terminology already!) and it was enjoyable.  But I wasn’t very attached to the Doctor.  We laughed at the episode and enjoyed it, but something was missing.  I asked Chris if he minded skipping to the second season, which starred David Tennant. I wanted to see if that hooked me a little more.  He didn’t mind, so we tried the first episode of Ten’s season.

Well, Ten is my Dr. Who.  Yup. Definitely.  David Tennant, who I know from Hamlet  and Harry Potter, is a force of

The Doctor has changed appearance ten distinct...

The Doctor has changed appearance ten distinct times. These are the eleven faces of the Doctor. (Top) L-R: William Hartnell, Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker (Middle) L-R: Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Paul McGann (Bottom) L-R: Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant, Matt Smith (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

nature.  What an amazing actor!  We flew through his first episode and now I plan to binge watch as many seasons as possible! Chris will be coming home at some point this week (trying not to jinx it!) and I am on spring break.  He has a few weeks of recovery ahead of him and we are looking forward to lots of time spent watching new TV shows and movies, and Dr. Who will definitely be at the top of the list.  Finally!

5 Responses

  1. David Tennant is my favorite Doctor as well. Matt Smith isn’t too shabby either. I don’t think he is on Netflix yet. You will have to catch him on BBC America.

  2. Doctor Who fans are called Whovians. It’s even been added to the Oxford English Dictionary. :)

  3. Whovians the term, but you are goin to have to spell it out to join the club. Doctor is his name and so it isn’t shortened like a title would be (grammar and doctor who, How many types of a nerd can I be at once?).. I would go back and watch nine (maybe once you are done and jonesing for more), it just takes a couple episodes to get hooked. I hope Chris gets to come home this week!

  4. You’re a Whovian now! (That’s what we’re called.) I do think it’s worth going back for the Eccleston season, as he really grows into the role and the relationship between Nine and Rose becomes a really lovely one. But I feel the same way you do–my husband, knowing my tastes, showed me the first Ten episode to hook me, and then I went back to catch up. Ten will forever be my Doctor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers

