Slice of Life March 22nd, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

I’m sitting here, trying to fall asleep, and I’m watching Friends.

Friends is my go-to comfort show.  I watch it when I’m sick, when I want to fall asleep, when I need to wind down from a long day. I’ve seen every episode a hundred times and Chris would tell you that I can recite the episode title with less than 30 seconds of any episode.  He’s right.

 I started watching Friends when I was in about 5th grade.  Then, I wasn’t allowed to stay up an watch the episodes, so I would sneak and watch them whenever I got the chance.  I remember that my friend Colleen loved the show too, so for her birthday I got her a Central Perk t-shirt and coffee mug, and I was convinced it was the best present ever! We would sing “Smelly Cat” together at school and we all wanted to be like the characters when we grew up.  Living in NY, hanging out at a coffee shop, spending every day with your best friends — it sounded like the best life ever!

I watched Friends all through middle school, high school, and into college.  The episodes would be on the background as I studied or napped.  They played as I got ready to go out on Thursday nights and while my friends and I did each other’s hair and make-up. Then, they announced that the series was ending.  My college friends and I piled into one room, crammed onto beds and the floor, and watched the last episode together.  I remember crying as the characters walked out of the apartment for the last time, because my friends and I were only a few months away from graduating college and walking away from our lives, too.

Friends is my show.  I can recite almost every line.  I still laugh at all the jokes.

“My god, this parachute is a knapsack!”

“The cushions are the essence of the chair!”

“Could I be wearing anymore clothes?!”

 And tonight it will help put me to sleep.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,798 other followers