Slice of Life March 21st, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

Today I had to take the Aussies to doggie daycare.

Go ahead and laugh.  I’ll wait a minute.

Ok, yes, sometimes I take the dogs to daycare.  This (expensive) treat is really a treat for me, because I take them when I know I have to work late and won’t be able to give them the attention they need.  This means they spend 7-9 hours running around, playing, and getting their energy out so that when I pick them up, they are exhausted. Aussies are exhausting, especially when you do not have a backyard for them to run in. So I am grateful we have other options.

Today, I felt like I was dropping children off.  I went back to school for the first time since Chris’ surgery and I knew I would be too exhausted to even consider taking care of the dogs after school.  But when I woke them up this morning, they both sounded like they had post-nasal drip.  The hacking was unbearable.  Very quickly, I did the math in my head and realized allergy season is here in full force. Aussies are ridiculously allergy-sensitive and I just read that this year’s allergy season is forecast to be the worst in decades thanks  to the hurricane. Dublin and Bailey also spent a lot of time playing outside for the past two days, thanks to my amazing in-laws, sister-in-law, and friend.  But they suffered the consequences today when they could not stop clearing their throats.

So there I was, dropping off two dogs and trying to explain that no, they were not sick and please ignore the hacking because the benadryl hasn’t kicked in yet. Thankfully, everyone at the daycare is awesome and fawned all over them, telling (the dogs) that the artificial turf they use would help them feel better.

At 5pm, I picked up two very happy, very tired dogs.  Benadryl worked its magic and they are passed out next to me on the couch.  I have been able to pack to go back to Philly and get some work done without them nagging me.  So thank you to our awesome doggie daycare!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,154 other followers