Slice of Life March 18th, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

“Today’s Specials”

“Pastachio Pancakes with whipped cream and strawberries”

I couldn’t stop staring at the sign in our local diner.

“They spelled pistachio wrong on the specials menu,” I told Chris.

“Are we going to have to leave? Because they spelled it wrong?” he asked.

Ok, so maybe I have an obsession with establishments spelling words correctly.  But really, pastachios?  How can you

Diner

Diner (Photo credit: Jayjay P)

leave that up there for all the people in the restaurant to see?  And how is it possible that no one else who works at this diner noticed the issue?  It was the first special on the list!  And it was written in green (in celebration of St. Patrick’s Day, perhaps?) so it stood out even more!

Normally, I don’t patronize restaurants where they can’t spell or use spellcheck on their menu.  Seriously.  I have a problem.

I did not leave the diner, as I wanted my eggs and pancakes, and Chris really wanted his Eggs Benedict with Corned Beef Hash.  But the sign haunted me through our entire meal.  I couldn’t look up without seeing it, staring at me.  I was tempted to go over and fix the spelling myself, but I decided that would be obnoxious.

And then, right as we were about to leave, a waitress walked over to the whiteboard and erased everything!  It was apparently time to switch from the breakfast specials to the lunch/dinner specials, so the offensive spelling disappeared.  Even better?  They stopped writing the updated specials about halfway through because it got busy, and I didn’t have to stare at anymore misspelled words.  :)

4 Responses

  1. I’m the same way. If I see misused apostrophes (3 Taco’s) I won’t go back. I figure if a restaurant is careless with its menus, it’s probably careless in its kitchen.

  2. One of our favorite bars had things misspelled ALL OVER their menu…and they kept the menu for MONTHS! It drove me nuts! We told people, and they just didn’t seem to care. I thought many times about bringing a red pen and editing the whole thing.

  3. Oh my goodness! This is funny! It makes me feel so much better about my spelling obsession.

  4. Having everything erased would’ve made me happy too. If it were socially acceptable, I’d go around fixing errors. But it’s not. So I don’t. But I fix them in my head all of the time.

    I’m with Mindi. Unnecessary apostrophes are my pet peeve!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,892 other followers

