Slice of Life March 16th, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

My morning started with the sound of the vacuum downstairs as I got dressed for our walk with the dogs.  I thought it was odd that Chris was vacuuming, but I figured that the dogs must have knocked something down.  I just crossed my fingers that he wasn’t cleaning up a present from the cat.

When I got downstairs there was no sign of the vacuum, but Chris was smiling sheepishly as he stood with the dogs.

“There was a situation, but I took care of it, ” he said.

“What kind of situation?  Was one of them sick? Or did they eat something?” My mind began to race with possibilities.

“Just a situation.  It’s taken care of.  Don’t worry.”

I was not having any of that.  In the event that they did eat something they were not supposed to, I needed to know what happened. “No way,” I said.  “Tell me what happened.”

Chris glanced at Bailey, who was sitting at his side, gazing at him adoringly. “Well, I took Bailey out to the bathroom and …”

“She had a leash on, right?”  I could tell by his face that she had not been wearing her leash.

“We were just on the front lawn.  But then a lady walked by on the sidewalk….” he trailed off for a second.  I looked at Bailey, who was still sitting next Chris, smiling at him. “She ran after the lady.  It’s ok, though!  She didn’t really jump on her.  But I had to get her to come inside somehow.”

At this point, I still wasn’t sure how the vacuum figured into the story.  Bailey hates the vacuum, so he wasn’t luring her back to the house with it!

“So I grabbed a stick,” he continued.  “And she came right back.  But then I had to give her the stick.  And she brought it into the house.  Then Dublin stole it from her, then they played tug until it broke.  They both chewed part of the stick and it made a big mess.  But I cleaned it up!”.

He was so proud of himself for cleaning up the mess that I couldn’t even make a big deal about him breaking the rules and taking Bailey out without a leash.

Never a dull moment, even first thing in the morning!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,781 other followers