Slice of Life March 7th, 2013 #slice2013

sols_6

Every day after school, I come home and get changed quickly so I can take the dogs for a walk.  Sometimes it’s a pain (especially when it’s cold and raining, like today!) and sometimes I dread it, but we rarely skip that afternoon walk.  And I’m always glad when we get started.

Some days we get into the car first and head to a local park.  I think we’ve hiked at every park within a 45 minute drive!  But today the weather was gross, so we stuck to the neighborhood route and completed a 2-mile loop.  We have to walk at least 2 miles after school or the Aussies will drive me crazy later that night!

Today’s walk was quiet.  The snow started coming down again and Bailey kept trying to catch snowflakes.  Dublin’s coat was quickly covered in large, wet flakes that melted before he could lick them off.  We didn’t see anyone else, except for the visiting wood ducks and a heron in the pond behind out development.  The sky was grey and cloudy, and the snowflakes melted as soon as they reached the ground.  But it was a beautiful walk, and just what I needed.  These walks clear my mind, relax me, and the dogs always make sure I laugh.

5 Responses

  1. I miss my dog. For one, she FORCED me to get out and exercise. It can be so hard to get started, but always worth it.

  2. Any photos of the Aussies? We used to have one (for 15 years) and she was a sweetheart. And a ball of energy. I once took her for a 14 mile run (brainstorming galore!), and when we finally got home she went for a long walk with my wife. Willingly.

  3. This so reminded me of my routine with my golden puppy, Rosie. She is a bundle of energy and without our daily walks she is like a whirling dervish!

    Those quiet walks are the best for clearing my head of the day and transitioning to home.

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Thank heavens for dogs that get us out like this! My lab sits and looks out the front window all day, waiting for me to come home. I usually cook dinner for my son, then we head out. And yep, just like you, it totally clears my head.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers

