Slice of Life- March 1, 2013 #slice2013

During the month of March, I will be participating in the Slice of Life Challenge.  My goal is to post a new slice everyday, and my 9th graders are challenging themselves to do the same.

sols_6

Walking into Trader Joe’s is a bit like walking into heaven.  I live smack dab in between two stores, both of which are about 40 minutes away.  Thus, I don’t get to shop at Trader Joe’s as often as I would like.  But tonight we had to drop the car off at the dealer, which just happens to be five minutes away from heaven.  We made a quick detour!

Most people go to Trader Joe’s for the healthy, organic food that they offer.  And believe me, I love some of the items they sell.  But that’s not what draws me in, like a moth who sees a flame from afar.  No, it’s not the healthy eating.

I am a dessert girl.

And Trader Joe’s carries my Kryptonite- speculoos products.

Cookie Butter. Crunchy Cookie Butter. Speculoos cookies. Cookie Butter filled candy bars.

My mouth is watering as I type this!

What is cookie butter?  Imagine nut butter with crushed up gingerbread cookies in it.

photo (4)

Drooling yet?

Tonight I managed to leave the store with only a few cookie butter candy bars, seeing as I already have a jar of crunchy cookie butter and a jar of smooth cookie butter at home.  Ok, I also bought some speculoos cookies (the ones crushed up in the cookie butter).  That would be a good dinner, right?

 

 

 

 

 

*I think this is the 5th year I am doing the Slice of Life Challenge.  Thanks to Stacey and Ruth for a fabulous challenge that inspires me to write every year. :)

10 Responses

  1. We are getting a Trader Joe’s here in Denver sometime soon & now you’ve made me excited! We already have Whole Foods, which I like sometime, & we have Sprouts (all organic) which is terrific, but cookie butter! Hm-m! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’ve never heard of Trader Joe’s and I’ve never heard of cookie butter! I’m hoping to find some at the health food store in my neck of the woods. Sounds delicious!

  3. Speculoos?? Derived from the word spectacular? That’s what I’m thinking when I read your description. Now I’m off to try and create something similar from my kitchen.

  4. Oh no…I know just where the Trader Joe’s is, it is only a little detour on my daily route to and from work…

  5. Yummm! I live in Denver, not too far from Linda, and we are eagerly awaiting our first Trader Joe’s. Thanks to your post, I know what to put on my shopping list, the first time I go there. Sounds speculoos! :)

  6. Yum. No Trader Joe’s within three hours of my house. If it or Whole Foods ever decides to come to this area, I will be one happy camper. :)

  7. Oooo! A new taste treat from Trader Joe’s. I must make a trip there right now…

  8. There is a Trader Joe’s quite near me and I usually stop in for their wonderful flowers as a quick pick-me-up. But cookie butter — that just might be enough to draw me further into the store!!

  9. My vice? The dark chocolate nutty pieces with salt, so incredibly good. I figure a few pieces of those along with a glass of wine and I am heart healthy right?? I have avoided the cookie butter, but will have to pick some up today! Sounds to good to deprive myself.

  10. I’m a big fan of TJ’s speculoos butters, but was not as keen on the speculoos-filled candy bars. Not enough contrast, maybe…

    You might enjoy this, although I admit I’m just as happy munching on a spoonful: 2-minute speculoos cakes. http://lifeandtheweb.blogspot.com/2012/01/biscoff-speculoos-mug-cake.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,892 other followers

