Twitter-size Reviews

I am so behind on reviews!  Between reading for school, reading fo r the Cybils, grading, planning, and running the dogs every day, there just isn’t enough time in the day!  So I am succumbed to the pressures of my towering to-be-reviewed pile.  Over the next few days I will be posting short, Twitter-sized reviews of books I’ve read recently.

Ashes by Ilsa J. Blick- So creepy and made my skin crawl. I don’t like zombie books. I loved this one. Dystopian and dark, I couldn’t put this down. Highly recommended for high school libraries.  The characters are engaging and the story will keep you on the edge of your seat.  Warning- not a book to read as you are eating lunch or dinner!  I wouldn’t even snack while reading this one…

 
The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School by Alexandra Robbins- An interesting look at high school cliques.  Not a huge fan of the choice to include a teacher as one of the subjects (especially as her status isn’t revealed until later in the book).  Definitely thought-provoking.

 

 

Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know by Alexandra Horowitz- I picked this up because I have two extremely intelligent dogs and wanted to know more about animal behavior, specific how the canine brain works.  This is a science book that won’t overwhelm the casual reader and I learned some interesting things about how dogs view the world.  Recommended for dog lovers- it may change the way you interact with your pet.

One Response

  1. I actually thought it was pretty brave having the teacher as a character, and the fact that it wasn’t revealed until much later hit home. Like a full on: YES moment for me. I work in a middle school and my mom works at another. There definitely are parallels to childlike behavior. But I think that happens EVERYWHERE. Lord knows there’s cliques in offices, etc. I found it to be pretty clever for her to introduce the character and we assume that it’s the students acting that way. The biggest disappointment for me when I hit “adulthood” was realizing that it really isn’t much different than high school to some people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,153 other followers

