My Professional Reading Goals

Every summer I try to read a few new professional books.  I add books to my Goodreads list all year, knowing that I will finally have time to read them in July and August.  This year has been an especially good year for some of my favorite professional authors, and I am looking forward to digging into their books this summer, annotating them and flagging my favorite passages.

Here are some of the books I can’t wait to read!

Real Revision: Authors’ Strategies to Share with Student Writers by Kate Messner- I love Kate’s middle grade fiction. I also simply love Kate. She is a 7th grade teacher and an author, which makes her my idol. I can’t wait to read her first professional book from Stenhouse!

How Shakespeare Changed Everything by Stephen Marche- Not really a professional resource, so to speak, but I read Romeo and Juliet with my freshman and I think this will be a great go-to book to up the ante in my Shakespeare unit.

Teaching Teens and Reaping Results in a Wi-Fi, Hip-Hop,Where-Has-All-the-Sanity-Gone World: Stories, Strategies, Tools, and Tips from a Three-Time Teacher of the Year Award Winner by Alan Sitomer- Come on, how could I not read it with a title like that?

How to Be a High School Superstar: A Revolutionary Plan to Get into College by Standing Out (Without Burning Out) by Cal Newport- I think this sounds like a great match for my current students.

Building Adolescent Literacy in Today’s English Classrooms by Randy Bomer- I can’t wait to read this one. It looks perfect for this high school English teacher.

Fresh Takes on Teaching Literary Elements: How to Teach What Really Matters About Character, Setting, Point of View, and Theme by Jeffrey Wilhelm- This has been recommended to me by so many people, so I am going to sit down with it this summer. Finally!

Obviously, this list is subject to change, of course. :) What are you planning to read this summer?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers