Slice of Life #3

As I pulled into the school parking lot this morning I took a mental inventory of everything I had to carry inside. My school bag, a tote bag of books for the classroom library, my purse, and the breakfast I had just picked up at Dunkin Donuts.  After parking, I put my hood off, turned off the car lights, and stepped out of my car.  The sky was dropping a mixture of sleet and wet snow on the ground and I quickly grabbed everything (so I thought) and ran into school.

My classroom is on the other side of the school from the parking lot, so it takes me a few minutes to get from my car to my classroom.  On the way I have to stop in the main office and sign in, plus pop in to a few classrooms to say good morning to my colleagues.  About 5 minutes after getting out of the car, I made it to my own classroom.  With a sign of relief I dropped my school bag on the floor next to my desk, put my purse on the windowsill, and turned on the computer.  As I waited to computer to warm up, I reached into my purse for the bag from Dunkin Donuts that held my croissant sandwich.  As I pulled it out of the bag, I realized with a start that my medium hot chocolate with whipped cream was nowhere to be found.

Oh no! I thought.  I tried to remember where I had last seen it.  Did I leave it on the counter in the office when I signed in?  In another classroom.  And then I pictured the familiar styrofoam cup in the last place I saw it- the cupholder in my car.  My car.  In the parking lot.  On the other side of the school.  In the rain.

For a second I considered just leaving it in the car.  Heck no! I paid $2 for that hot chocolate!  I’m sure as heck enjoying it!

Resigned, I stood up and pulled on my North Face jacket.  This time in reverse, I made my way down the hall.

The hot chocolate was worth it.  :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,089 other followers