Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur

Aubrey is alone, but no one can find out. She goes about her day pretending that her mother hasn’t abandoned her without warning.  She puts on disguises to go food shopping and doesn’t answer the phone.  Eleven years old, she is dealing with issues far beyond her young age.

The best word to describe Love, Aubrey is bittersweet. Aubrey’s father and younger sister died in a car crash and her mother shut down after losing them.  Now, she has left Aubrey without warning.  When Aubrey’s grandmother shows up and offers to take her back to Vermont to live, Aubrey isn’t sure she wants to go.  Starting over is never easy and life hasn’t been good to Aubrey lately.  But as she settles slowly into a new life, she gains a best friend and supportive family.  However, she still doesn’t know how to deal with her own grief and confusion.  Aubrey writes letters to an imaginary friend, keeping her close to her baby sister,Savannah, and helping her deal with her feelings. Supported by her grandmother, new friends and school counselor, Aubrey learns to move on and build a new life.  And when her mother comes back into her life, she is able to make the difficult choice presented to her- stay in Vermont or move back home with Mom in Virginia.

Love, Aubrey is a book I couldn’t put down.  It easily could have been overdone and miserable; instead, LaFleur has crafted a powerful story about grief and loss.  At times funny, heartbreaking, and poignant, Love, Aubrey is a phenomenal story.  I found myself racing through the book, stopping only wipe tears from my eyes or to get more tissues.  A perfect novel for middle grade readers, this is also a story adults and teens will enjoy.  I already have a handful of students who have read the book and all of them commented that they couldn’t put it down.  And they loved it as much as I did!

*Review copy courtesy of the publisher

4 Responses

  1. I have heard great reviews about this book! Since you have read it, do you think it would be appropriate for 5th grade readers? I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but it is in my “too read next” pile!

  2. I would say that it is appropriate for 5th graders who are mature. This is one of the best books that I have recently read…the imagery and language she uses is top notch. I can’t get Aubrey out of my head. I could totally hear the characters talking in this book! Would not be surprised to see this book as an award winner.

  3. To “Aubrey …… ……” i am sorry to hear about your loss and whatever it might be. but i cant sit here reading these comments without saying something. all i can add as a tear comes to my eye is that i hope god can help you…as this is the only way out of this situation. i am sorry about this tradgity again.

  4. My name is Aubrey and I am recently 12.i am currently dealing with a loss of my own.a tragedy.even through my loss I happen to have been reading up on this book and I cant help but think I was meant for this book and it for me.me and Aubrey are alike in every aspect. I too have a pet to comfort me in times-a Chinese dwarf hamster Mikala.i would like to say thank you to Suzanne LeFleur because no one can give me the comfort that this book supplies me with.and for once I feel as if I am not alone.
    ~gonetogothinkofeverything~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers

