Books I’m Pining For

Right now, my world is centered around a tiny 6 lb monster who likes to cry and bark.  :)  I’m reading two puppy training books, Puppies For Dummies and My Smart Puppy: Fun, Effective, and Easy Puppy Training (Book & 60min DVD) without much time for anything else. But here are a few books I am looking forward to reading after he settles down….

 

Also Known As Harper by Ann Haywood Leal- This one has been getting mentions all over the blogosphere so I am dying to get my hands on it!


Tropical Secrets: Holocaust Refugees in Cuba by Margarite Engle- Last year Engle snuck up on me and snatched a Newbery Honor. So when I saw that Betsy Bird had this book on her Newbery 2010 contenders list, I knew I needed to to read it! Plus, I am always on the lookout for new Holocaust stories that focus on aspects of the tragedy that aren’t a part of the general curriculum at our grade level.


Cold Hands, Warm Heart by Jill Wolfson- I hate doctors and hospitals. I love books about medicine. Weird, huh? The novel focuses on the organ donation process and I am dying to read more.

 

 

 Nothing but Ghosts by Beth Kephart- “How do you paint regret?” That sentence has been at the back of my mind ever since reading a review of Beth Kephart’s newest novel. I think I’ll be purchasing this one this week!

 

 

 

L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad- So sue me, I love The Hills and Lauren Conrad! I am dying to see how this one is, because I’m hearing good things so far. Plus, who doesn’t love a little light, fluffy reading during the summer?

 

 

So, what books are you pining for?

3 Responses

  1. Nice list! Im waiting for my local library to get the “Also known as Harper”

    apearently they dont have it yet.

  2. It was so hard not to buy both Also Known as Harper and Tropical Secrets tonight at Bank Street. Since I’m flying home, I am trying to show restraint especially since I added these to my TBR list. I also have Potato Chip Puzzles and The Puzzling World of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin.

  3. Hello, I stumbled across your site through Yahoo and just wanted to say that I really like it. I’ll definitely be bookmarking it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,780 other followers

