Slice of Life #12

As I sat on the couch, watching my favorite Thursday night TV shows, I had a sudden craving for cookies. So during the next commercial break I made my way to the refrigerator.

Hmmm…..just a few mint Wegman’s Oreos in here, I thought as I searched shelves.  I wonder if we have any cookie mix in the pantry. 

Yes!  Oatmeal chocolate-chip cookie mix!  I grabbed the package, the necessary stick of butter, and a single egg.  Looking at the clock on the microwave, I saw that  had 8 minutes until The Office started.  Could I pop the cookies into the oven by then?  Of course I could!   

I quickly dumped the bag of cookie mix into my KitchenAid mixer while the frozen stick of butter softened in the microwave.  Once the butter was room temperature, it found its way into the mixing bowl, along with a box of raisins I found in the pantry.  While the mixer beat the mixture together, I found the cookie sheet and made sure the oven was preheated.

Three minutes until The Office.  

Once the cookies were mixed, I quickly began grabbing handfuls of the thick, sticky mixture.  Oh no, I forgot to take off my ring! Now I’ll have to clean it later, I scolded myself.  But I quickly laid out 16 balls of dough on the cookie sheet and threw the sheet into the oven.

One minute left!  I made it!  I set the oven timer for 10 minutes and made my way back to the couch.  Now, if only the cookies could finish during a commercial break….

New from Aimee Buckner!

Be sure to check out Aimee Buckner’s contribution to the Share a Story – Shape a Future blog tour.  It’s a great read!

Aimee is the author of one of my favorite writing workshop books, Notebook Know-How: Strategies for the Writer’s Notebook. I use it everywhere during our first unit of study. I am especially excited because she is coming out with a new book, Notebook Connections: Strategies for the Reader’s Notebook. I can’t wait to get my hands on it! And if you check out Aimee’s post above, there is a link to a sneak peek of the book!

Day 4- Share a Story – Shape a Future Blog Tour

Today is Day 4 of the Share a Story – Shape a Future blog tour.  Today’s theme is  “A Visit to the Library” and is hosted by Eva Mitnick at Eva’s Book Addiction blog.

Posts:

More Great Posts
Tiger’s Bookshelf: Shopping Mall Library (Thai Knowledge Park) – PaperTigers
Time Travel in a Thai Library: A Visit to Neilson Hays - PaperTigers

 

Share a Story-Shape a Future image created by Elizabeth Dulemba

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,593 other followers