Wikipedia as a Credible Source

I just laughed out loud while watching 30 Rock.  I wish I could show this episode to my students, who don’t understand why Wikipedia is not a cite-worthy source!  In the scene, Jenna (Jane Krakowski) announces that she is going to be playing Janis Joplin in a movie and will be employing the “method method of acting”, so she will only respond to Janis or Miss Joplin.  So the writers tell her to study Wikipedia, as “people are always discovering new things about Janis Joplin”.

As soon as Jenna leaves the room, they pull up Wikipedia, click edit page, and begin adding insane “facts” about Joplin.  Ordinary things like, Janis Joplin speedwalks everywhere and was afraid of toilets.

And that, my students, is why you should never cite Wikipedia as a source!  :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,593 other followers