Poetry Friday

For this week’s Poetry Friday I decided to do a meme I have seen floating around the internet.  I love music and poetry, and this seemed to combine the two in a fun way.

 

“Be Pete Wentz” Meme
Put your player on shuffle.
The first lines of the first twenty songs that come up are your “poem/song”
The 21st line is the title.

 

I don’t get many things right the first time


You say you’ve turned it off,
I’ll take you just the way you are.
I dont know why I act the way I do,
I’m dreaming of a white Christmas.

Baby look at me,
Walking along beneath the lights of that miracle mile.
I set out on a narrow way many years ago,
I said I wanna touch the earth.

I see your face in my mind as I drive away,
Tired of my beeper, tired of my phone.
Katie you’re a brave girl, and I know its only just started.
Pray God you can cope.

Today was the worst day, I went through hell,
the holidays are here again, the world is white with snow.
It’s astounding, time is fleeting
By the look in your eyes I can tell you’re gonna cry.

Oh, why you look so sad?
This boy here wants to move too fast,
Another summer day
There’s a blue rockin’ chair, sittin’ in the sand.

4 Responses

  1. [...] saw this on a blog that I lurk on and I loved the idea! And because I’ve been interested lately in writing poetry I thought [...]

  2. I love this!!! I have a couple lessons on found poetry that I’ve done with my eighth graders – and I think I might incorporate this idea into it. I think it’ll really appeal to the MP3 player obsessed middle-school set!

    Here’s mine:

    I don’t like you

    When you walked by, I saw a small tear in your eye
    I realize that I’m just naturally inclined to go and let you down
    Last night he said oh baby I feel so down
    The truth is I thought it mattered

    When you walk in the bar
    We were too wasted to close the window
    I keep the one I love in the freezer
    I keep on falling in love

    There is a city by the sea
    Love struck Romeo sings the streets a serenade
    Walking oh so slowly
    Woke up today in a van

    Walking in the snowy street
    I bombed Korea every night
    Now I’m a union man
    Paid programming helps me sleep at night

    Nobody ever had a dream ’round here
    We know of an ancient radiation
    Imagine me and you, I do
    Allow me to exaggerate a memory or two

  3. [...] saw this on a blog that I lurk on and I loved the idea! And because I’ve been interested lately in writing poetry I thought [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,039 other followers

