Rumors (A Luxe Novel) by Anna Godbersen

These books are such a guilty pleasure for me. Girls in ball gowns, dashing young men, and scandalous behavior- all in 1899. Nineteenth century time is the epitomy of romance and intrigue, and Godbersen does a great job of including the names of various Manhattan families like the Vanderbilts and the Astors. I was especially excited to see a mention of the resort town of Lakewood, NJ as I went to college there!

Fans of The Luxe will not be disappointed by Rumors: A Luxe Novel (The Luxe). The drama is in full force and all of our favorite characters are back. Readers will be swept into the parlors and ballrooms of Gramercy Park, NYC, where gossip is currency and money isn’t all one needs to attain a place in high society. I am already awaiting the next book after this ending. What a cliffhanger!!

My only disappointment is that Rumors: A Luxe Novel (The Luxe) is a bot shorter than the first novel. I wanted the story to continue!!

48 Hour Challenge Update

Rumors: A Luxe Novel (The Luxe) by Anna Godbersen

419 pages in 2.5 hours!

Mother Reader’s 48-Hour Book Challenge

And they’re off! I am beginning my 48 hours right now, at 8:30pm on Friday. The books are stacked, the schedule is kinda clear, and I am ready and rarin’ to go!

Borders Follow-up

As a follow-up to this post, I told my students about my experience at Borders.  I presented them with my experience and just asked for their thoughts.  At first, I think they thought I was crazy, just telling them about wandering up and down the aisles.  However, as soon as I mentioned the “Books for Boys” and “Books for Girls” signs, they were horrified.  Hands immediately flew into the air, waving, while their mouths opened, jaws dropped.  They brought up some great points, and I was so proud of them!  Here are just a few of their thoughts:

- What  happens if someone wants to read a book that the store has labeled for the opposite gender?  Would they decide not to read it then?

-How come the young adult and adult books aren’t divided by gender?

-That’s sexist!

-Lots of girls love science-fiction and fantasy!

-Books aren’t girl books or boy books.  They are just books.  Anyone can love any book.  Just like they can dislike any book.

-Why do they use genres for the rest of the categories?  Boy and girl are not genres.

-Let’s write them a persuasive letter and tell them to change their categories!

You know what?  I think we just may use that last suggestion.  Next week is our last full week of school and we will write a letter from our class to our local Borders, asking that they stop using gender as category for their books!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,097 other followers