My Second of Eight Poems

In My Backyard

Sitting at my back doors

I watch as nature comes to my doorstep,

feeding on suet, thistle, and wild bird seed.

Tiny thistle seeds overflow the bird feeder.

The shy goldfinch couple timidly grips the wire feeder,

leaping into flight at the smallest movement

or noise.

The noisy chickadees peck at the seeds

that have fallen to the ground,

fighting over them with the mourning doves.

The cardinal couple regally hops along the patio,

pecking at stray seeds and suet,

dropped by the others.

The noisy bluejay squawks his annoyance

at not being able to grip the feeder

with his oversized feet.

On the roof, a wily squirrel plots

his breaking and entering…

how will he manage to get the seed from the bird feeder this time?

Maybe I have finally outsmarted him, I think.

Watching out my back windows,

it amazes me just how much of nature

is right in my own

townhouse backyard,

small as it may be.

Feeding the birds in my small backyard is one of my favorite hobbies. It’s so much fun to sit and watch the various species as they fly among the trees and bushes, making a quick pit stop at the feeders or on the ground. Until I put up my bird feeders, I didn’t realize how many different types of birds where right here in my own neighborhood! Now if I could just manage to outsmart that stinkin’ squirrel!

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this piece, well done! I like the descriptive images, couple with an undercurrent of opinion :}

  2. Wow
    You paint an entire world with this poem.
    Very effective
    Kevin

  3. Kevin seems to have read my mind with his comment! He’s right — you took me into a new world. I love how there’s so much from just a bit of birdseed. Thanks for sharing,
    Ruth

  4. I agree with the good use of imagery. The birds have just returned here last week and it is so good to have them!

  5. I like the different bird personalities that come through. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,957 other followers

