Slice of Life Challenge #11

2302069961_99d7c8e07d.jpg

One of my favorite parts of my day is my drive to work .  It’s only about 15 minutes from my house to school, but I try to make good use of the time I have.  Until recently, I listened to my iPod and just relaxed.  However, I recently began listening to my first audiobook.  As a highly visual learner, I shied away from listening to books because I assumed I would just tune out.  Plus, I love to sing along with my radio (at the top of my lungs), so losing that time made me a little sad.

A few days ago I had to drive to a wedding that was over an hour away.  I downloaded an audiobook onto my iPod and figured I would give it a shot.  As I drove up the parkway and into the mountains, that hour flew by!  I was enjoying the story and realized that listening to a reader would also help me with my read-alouds.  It’s interesting hearing another person’s interpretation of  character’s voices, mannerisms, and speech.

Every morning when I get into my car, I place my iPod into it’s stand and set up the FM transmitter.  Even though I only have 15 minutes (at the most), listening to someone tell me story has now become my favorite part of my morning routine.  Even when I pull into my parking spot at school I sometimes spend a few more minutes in the car, finishing a chapter.  For someone who has regretted the loss of her pleasure reading time, audiobooks are filling a great void in my life.

Professional Books Reviewed

I am very excited about a website I found today while looking for some reviews.  I am constantly looking through catalogs and deciding I *need* every professional book.  However, professional books are expensive and I can’t afford to buy them willy-nilly.  A co-teacher and I are considering purchasing a fairly expensive professional resource but aren’t sure if it will be suitable for our classes.  They seem to frown upon returning  professional resources after perusing them, but what else can I do? However, while looking for the author’s website I found a site that publishes reviews of many, many professional books and was pleased with the reviews I read.  Most of the reviews are written by education professors with many years of experience in the field.  Check it out!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,593 other followers