Slice of Life Challenge #7

2302069961_99d7c8e07d.jpg

I opened my eyes, slowly rolled over, and attempted to get out of bed.  I groaned, feeling a little nauseous but chalked it up to the early hour and being generally exhausted. Glancing at the clock, I realized the boyfriend was up an hour early.  I could hopefully sleep a bit longer and wake up feeling a little more refreshed.

An hour later, after sleeping for what felt like five more minutes, I woke up feeling just as gross.  Rolling out of bed, stumbling downstairs- I located my computer and logged on to call out.  As I entered a sick day into our substitute system, I could barely see.  It was still dark, my contacts weren’t in, and I just felt gross.  I filled out the form and hesitated over the “confirm” button.  I hate missing a day of school.  Hate it.  But after that slight hesitation I convinced myself that trying to make it would only be worse.  I quickly clicked and then wrote up a skeleton of plans for the day.  One sick day was just what the doctor ordered.

Poetry Friday

Forgetfulness

 
by Billy Collins
 
The name of the author is the first to go

followed obediently by the title, the plot,

the heartbreaking conclusion, the entire novel

which suddenly becomes one you have never read, 

never even heard of,

as if, one by one, the memories you used to harbor

decided to retire to the southern hemisphere of the brain,

to a little fishing village where there are no phones.

read the rest of the poem here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,590 other followers