Slice of Life Challenge #4

2302069961_99d7c8e07d.jpg

“Can I do Miley Cyrus for my Women’s History Month project?!”

“Well, as much as I know we all admire Miley, let’s see if we can find someone else to focus on for this particular project. I want you to research someone you don’t already know everything about”. There, that should be a kind enough way of saying what I am really thinking……heck no! Miley Cyrus is not a hero! Nor is she someone who we should be honoring this month! There are literally thousands of women who spent their lives fighting for various causes and Miley is NOT one of them.

Disappointed sighs. Hands slowly down to their desk. Then I see their eyes light up, hands shooting into the air like dogs off a leash.

A sigh, this time from me.

“Before you even ask, no. You can not do Hannah Montana either.”

Hands down. Disappointed sighs.

It’s a good thing we are doing this project. Some of my students could stand to learn a little about women’s history.

“Ladies and gentlemen, please turn the page and let’s look at the research requirements before we choose our famous woman…..”

12 Responses

  1. [...] disneyscoop wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt“Can I do Miley Cyrus for my Women’s History Month project?!” “Well, as much as I know we all admire Miley, let’s see if we can find someone else to focus on for this particular project. I want you to research someone you don’t already … [...]

  2. I smiled and was saddened by this at the same time. I hope your students find about the amazing things other women have done.

  3. Um, what about Paris? She has *lived* and she is like totally going to get involved with charity and stuff.

  4. Haha, Jane! No worries- they then asked if Jessica Alba and Tyra Banks were ok.

    Sheesh!

  5. This is why those beautiful children need you:) Maybe we can put an age minimum on biographies this month. Funny piece.

  6. LOVE IT!!! Total kid question! Thanks for the post.

  7. I have to laugh at this – I mean you must laugh or you might cry! Even our preschoolers are talking about Hannah Montana.

  8. ROTFL! Sorry, but hey, at least they are “trying” (in a loose sense of the word) to find an influential woman. Just wish it were influential in better ways. Hee, hee.

  9. This was very enlightening! Thanks for sharing.
    ~jane S

  10. I love that they were going to come back with the Hannah Montana question! Fast on their feet … but not as fast as you!

  11. I laughed… but realized how sad this is. I shouldn’t be surprised, because most kids gasp when I tell them I don’t enjoy the Miley/Hannah show.

  12. The show/concert doesn’t bother me. In fact, I own her latest album because it is catchy! However, I don’t think she is a woman we should be studying for Women’s History Month….haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,088 other followers

