My Newbery Predictions

Tomorrow morning will be very exciting, for reasons besides the (hopefully) impending snow…….it’s Newbery Day! The 2008 Newbery Award will be announced at 7:45am from ALA Midwinter in Philadelphia. I know that thousands of books are published each year and the odds that I will have already read the Newbery are slim to none, but I can hope. I can’t begin to decide which should win the gold and which should be Honor books (or how many honor books there may be this year). Here are my predictions for this year’s awards.

  • Emma Jean Lazarus Fell Out of a Tree by Lauren Tarshis (I really, really want this book to win the gold!)
  • Home of the Brave by K.A. Applegate
  • Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt
  • Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Schlitz
  • A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban

I will be waiting with baited breath tomorrow morning, hoping one of “my” books wins. Of course, the odds are that another book will sweep in, under the cover of night, and take the big prize. (If that is the worst case scenario, it just means I will have another book to add to my pile of must-reads.)   My students are also very excited about tomorrow’s awards. They get to school at 8:10am and I have already promised to let them know the winners as quickly as I can. I signed up to receive the winners via text message from ALA, so I should know very soon after the awards are announced and before the students get to school. We will be spending our reading workshop tomorrow reviewing the terms and criteria for the Newbery along with perusing the list of past winners. We will then use this information to develop criteria for our own class award (to be awarded later in the school year). This way, the award will be a “real” part of their life even if we have not yet read the winner. Should the winner be a short(er) novel, it may just become our next read-aloud!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,977 other followers